NWO - Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek - print-logo

URL of this page :

Printed on :
October 17th 2017

We would like to draw your attention to four special scientific NWO prizes that are open to various researchers in the field of physics. With these prizes, NWO aims to facilitate research and knowledge utilisation at different scientific levels. The prizes are always presented to the winners during Physics@Veldhoven in January.

Last FOM Prizes in 2016
In 2016 FOM awarded the following FOM Prizes for the last time:

The winners of these prizes were announced in October 2016. The prizes were awarded during Physics@Veldhoven 2017.

NWO Physics Prizes as from 2017
As from 1 January 2017 FOM will be part of the new NWO. In 2017 the following prizes will be awarded:

  • NWO Physics Thesis Award
    awarded each year to the best physics thesis.
  • Minerva Prize
    awarded once every two years for the best publication by a woman about a physics subject.
  • NWO Physics Valorisation Prize
    encourages the utilisation of knowledge from physics research. The prize is awarded each year to a Dutch researcher (or research group) within the field of physics who has successfully managed to make the results from his or her own research useful for society.
  • NWO Physics Valorisation Chapter Prize
    encourages PhD students to devote a separate chapter in their thesis to the valorisation of their doctoral research. This prize underlines the importance that FOM attaches to valorisation and is aimed at encouraging PhD students to look out for possibilities to utilise knowledge from their research.

Call closed
The deadline for submitting nominations for the four NWO Physics Prizes 2017 was 1 April 2017.

More information
Information about the prizes can be found on the relevant pages. Video material of the prizes ceremony in 2012, in 2013 and in 2015 can be found on our YouTube channel. See also the film 'Winning prizes for physics at FOM'.