NWO - Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek - print-logo

URL of this page :

Printed on :
January 18th 2019

The prize consists of a bronze statue as well as a payment of 5.000 euro that the laureate is free to use as she wishes. There is considerable competition for this prize (about 30 submissions). The prize winners have notable results and/or careers.

As from 2017 FOM will be part of the new NWO. In 2017 the new NWO organisation will award the Minerva Prize. For further information we refer you to the information page about the NWO transition.

More information
For more information, please see the regulations (in the upper right corner of this webpage), or contact Mark Schmets, +31 70 344 05 37.

Minerva Prize winners and their publications:

  • Julia Cramer (2017)
    Repeated quantum error correction on a continuously encoded qubit by real-time feedback
    , published in Nature Communications in 2016. J. Cramer, N. Kalb, M.A. Rol, B. Hensen, M.S. Blok, M. Markham, D.J. Twitchen, R. Hanson & T.H. Taminiau.
  • Anouk Rijs (2015)
    Gas-phase peptide structures unraveled by far-IR spectroscopy, Angewandte Chemie International Edition, Vol 53, issue 14, 3663-3666, April 2014.
  • Katerina Dohnalová (2013)
    'Surface brightens up Si quantum dots: direct bandgap-like size-tunable emission', Dohnalová, K., Poddubny, A.N., Prokofiev, A.A., De Boer, W., Umesh, C.P., Paulusse, J.M.J., Zuilhof, H. & Gregorkiewicz, T., Light: Science & Applications (2013) 2, e47; doi:10.1038/lsa.2013.3
  • Maria Antoinietta Loi (2011*)
    Nanohybrids for Photonic Devices: Encapsulation of Conjugated Oligomers in Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes: Towards Nanohybrids for Photonic Devices, geschreven door Maria Antonietta Loi, Jia Gao, Fabrizio Cordella, Pascal Blondeau, Enzo Menna, Barbora Bártová, Cécile Hébert, Sorin Lazar, Gianluigi A. Botton, Matus Milko en Claudia Ambrosch-Draxl, Advanced Materials 14 (2010).
  • Mirjam Leunissen (2010)
    'Switchable self-protected attractions in DNA-functionalized colloids', M.E. Leunissen, R. Dreyfus, F.C. Cheong, D.G. Grier, R. Sha, N.C. Seeman and P.M. Chaikin, Nature Materials 8, 590 (2009).
  • Marika Taylor (2008)
    'Fuzzball solutions for black holes and D1-brane-D5-brane microstates', Kostas Skenderis and Marika Taylor, Physical Review Letters 98 (2007) 071601.
  • Sylvie Roke (2006)
    'Vibrational sum frequency scattering from a submicron suspension', Sylvie Roke, Wim Roeterdink, Judith Wijnhoven, Andrei Perukhov, Aart Kleyn and Mischa Bonn, Physical Review Letters 91 (2003) 258302.
  • Ute Ebert (2004)
    'Spontaneous branching of anode-directed streamers between planar electrodes', Manuel Arrayás, Ute Ebert and Willem Hundsdorfer, Physical Review Letters 88 (2002) 174502.
  • Suzanne Hulscher (2002)
    'Comparison between predicted and observed sand waves and sand banks in the North Sea', Suzanne J.M.H. Hulscher and G. Matthijs van den Brink, Journal of Geophysical Research 106 C5 (2001) 9327-9338.
  • Marjolein Dijkstra (2000)
    'Phase diagram of highly asymmetric binary hard-sphere mixtures', Marjolein Dijkstra, René van Roij and Robert Evans, Physical Review E 59 (1999) 5744-5771.
  • Liesbeth Venema (2000)
    'Imaging electron wave functions of quantized energy levels in carbon nanotubes', Liesbeth Venema, Jeroen Wildöer, Jorg Janssen, Sander Tans, Hinne Temminck Tuinstra, Leo Kouwenhoven and Cees Dekker, Science 283 (1999) 52-55.

* The Minerva Prize 2011 is actually the Minerva Prize 2012 (this bi-annual prize has been awarded for the last time in 2010). However FOM has decided to equalize the date of the Minerva Prize as from 2011 to the other FOM prizes.

The Minerva Prize is one of the activities of the FOm/f stimulation programme.
For further information please contact Mark Schmets, +31 70 344 05 37.