NWO - Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek - print-logo

URL of this page :

Printed on :
November 18th 2017

The winner receives a bronze statue and a sum of 10.000 euro, which he or she is free to use as they wish.

The prize was awarded for the last time in 2016 during Physics@Veldhoven 2017. In 2017 the new NWO organisation will award the NWO Physics Thesis Award.

As of 1 January 2017 FOM is converted to the NWO Institutes Organisation. Together with other NWO divisions FOM forms a new organisation, as part of the NWO Transition.For further information we refer you to the information page about the NWO transition.

Call closed
The deadline for submitting nominations for the NWO Physics Thesis Award was 1 April 2017. 
More information
For further information see the regulations (in the upper right corner of this webpage) or please contact Marcel Hoek, 31 30 600 12 26.

Up until 2010, FOM awarded the Andries Miedema Prize once every two years to the best PhD research in the field of condensed matter. Andries Miedema (1933-1992) was one of the very few people who succeeded in combining leadership within fundamental research, industrial research and the national and European educational and research policies. In 2010, this prize was replaced by the FOM Physics Thesis Award. As from 1 January 2017 FOM will be part of the new NWO. In 2017 the new NWO organisation will award the NWO Physics Thesis Award.

Winner of the NWO Physics Thesis Award:
2017: Bas Hensen

Winners of the FOM Physics Thesis Award:
2016: Julija Bagdonaitė
2015: Said Rahimzadeh-Kalaleh Rodriguez
2014: Hanneke Gelderblom
2013: Martin Frimmer
2012: Anton Akhmerov
2011: Klaas-Jan Tielrooij
2010: Ewold Verhagen 

Winners of the Andries Miedema Prize:
2008: Yves Rezus
2006: Dirk Aarts
2004: Michel Kropman
2002: Alex Yanson
2000: Alberto Morpurgo
1998: Alexander van Oudenaarden
1996: Hans Huiberts
1994: Bart van Tiggelen