Print this page

Committee recognition & rewards

Recognition & rewards at NWO-I

What is Recognition & Rewards?

Recognition & Rewards is a national movement to achieve a more modernized and balanced academic system. This movement was launched with the publication of the attached position paper 'Room for everyone’s talent' by VSNU, NFU, NWO, KNAW, and ZonMW in 2019. The goal is to change the culture in the Dutch and global academic, to recognize and value all tasks of our employees. Not only focus on research results, but also on recognition for tasks in the areas of education, impact, leadership, patient care, and, specifically for the NWO Institutes: the national role.
You can find more background on the Recognition & Rewards movement, the position paper, visions of other knowledge institutions, and discussions at

What steps is NWO-I taking?

At the moment all Dutch knowledge institutions have installed committees that are determining their vision and ambition for this cultural change, and are starting to implement changes. The NWO Institutes have decided to install one broad committee for all institutes together. The committee is represented by all scientific career levels including the engineering/technical departments, all different institutes, and all management layers and includes colleagues from specific departments such as HR and communication.

The committee is working on the vision and focus for Recognition & Rewards at our institutes. The vision will address the ambition of NWO-I, namely why do we think the system of Recognition & Rewards has to change and what is our goal? Further, we will also have a more elaborate vision and strategy per key area (research, education, leadership, impact, national role).

During this process, we would like to have an open dialogue with all employees to explain our ambition, listen to viewpoints and worries, and gather input for our vision. Therefore we will send out a questionnaire soon and organize discussion sessions. The discussion sessions take place in October and each will revolve around one or two specific key areas, namely Research, on Impact & the National Role, and on Leadership & Education. You will find an invite to the discussion session in your inbox soon.

If in the meantime you have thoughts or worries you want to share with the committee, feel free to contact us at
You can also contact the chair (Michael Wise), project leader (Laura Jussen), or the representative from your career layer or institute directly. You can find relevant literature and the contact details of the committee on this webpage.

Committee members

# Position Name Affiliation Email
1 Chair/ Professor Michael Wise (pfh DO) DO, SRON
2 Project leader/ policy advisor Laura Jussen Bureau
3 PhD Anna van der Kaaden NIOZ
4 Postdoc Ilan Shlesinger AMOLF
5 Tenure tracker Bart Weber ARCNL
6 Tenured researcher André Offringa ASTRON
7 Tenured researcher Evelien Hoeben NSCR
8 Professor Lynda Hardman CWI
9 Professor Maarten de Jong Nikhef
10 Technical/Engineering member Jan Geralt bij de Vaate SRON
11 HRM Linda Berkhout HRM, AMOLF
12 HRM Sandra Liefhebber HRM, NIOZ
13 Communications advisor Erik Arends Communication, SRON
14 External member Rob Detmers SRON (former scientist SRON, now policy)
Confidental Infomation